Our Staff

Senior Leadership team

James Davidson

Principal’s Welcome

Kia ora,

I love it here at Pātea Area School and strive to create a kura that our students will love too. We have an amazing team of teachers and support staff who all embody the values Rangatiratanga, Manaakitanga and Rangatiratanga. 

We strongly invite anyone interested in learning more about our fantastic school, get in touch with the office and arrange a hui and a tour of the kura. 

Ngā mihi

James Davidson

Bruce Johnson


Hirangi Dobson

Raveena Lal

I have been teaching at Pātea Area School since 2008 in the Mathematics Department and later as the Deputy Principal in 2019. My background is in Maths and Physics and I want to shape young minds and help them navigate a world run by numbers.

As a Deputy Principal, I am committed to make constructive contributions to work of the school team in a manner which supports effective school organisation and improved learning goals for students. I want to act as a role model and take a lead role in the development of curriculum programmes for students which reflect the New Zealand Curriculum, Treaty of Waitangi and the schools strategic vision.

Richard Baylis

Staff list

Bruce Johnson – Assistant Principal, HOD technology, Senior Leadership Team

Raveena Joytishna Lal – Deputy Principal, Senior Leadership Team

Roshni Ben – Head of Science Department

Mrs Anil K. Singh – IIC Food and Fabric Technology

Jeanenne Milne – Reading Recovery and Early Support Literacy Teacher

Gerardine Wood – Teacher of Geography and Horticulture

Kelly Bleackley – HOD English, TIC History

Whaea Kaela Janiten – Head of Department – Arts

Jamie Henare – Across school teacher of Music

Whaea Naiomi  –  Across school teacher of PE and Te Reo

Richard Baylis – Year 8 Teacher, Senior Leadership Team

Whaea Kendyl – Year 7 Teacher

Nazli Jeftha – Room 3 Teacher

Anna Thomson – Room 4 Teacher

Hirangi Dobson – Room 5 Teacher


Kaaterama Raimona – AE Tutor

Nicola Quarrie – Teacher Aide

Tuhikore Hori – Learning Support Staff

David Hessell – Learning Support Staff, Sports Coordinator

Nicky Bougen-Rose – Learning Support Staff


Toya Beth Spearman – Finance Officer

Jodi Edgecombe – Office Administrator, Sports Coordinator

Michealene Condon – Gateway Coordinator